Series

Global Sounds on Screen

Jul 06 2017 — Aug 13 2017
Description
Not your typical concert movie series, this is a globe-trotting survey of films on music, struggle, joy, and dissent.

From the birth of the blues in West Africa to unexpected techno in Iran, pop idols in Japan, and a pioneering woman in synthesizers, these films offer a broad depiction of music on-screen.

Video
Trailer

Schedule
Thursday, July 06
Thursday, July 06
Film
7:30PM
Closed
Sunday, July 09
Sunday, July 09
Film
Closed
Thursday, July 13
Thursday, July 13
Film
7:30PM
Closed
Sunday, July 16
Sunday, July 16
Film
2PM
Closed
Thursday, July 20
Thursday, July 20
Sunday, July 23
Sunday, July 23
Thursday, July 27
Thursday, July 27
Sunday, July 30
Sunday, July 30
Thursday, August 03
Thursday, August 03
Film
7:30PM
Sunday, August 06
Sunday, August 06
Thursday, August 10
Thursday, August 10
Film
7:30PM
Sunday, August 13
Sunday, August 13
Credits

Yerba Buena Center for the Arts is grateful to the City of San Francisco for its ongoing support.

YBCA programs in 16–17 are made possible in part by:
The James Irvine Foundation

Additional funding for YBCA programs 16–17:
National Endowment for the Arts, Adobe, Abundance Foundation, Gaia Fund, Grosvenor, and Members of Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Lead Image: Courtesy the distributor